If you use Gmail for work, beginning June 25, Google is rolling out its new confidential mode. So G Suite users will be able to send confidential emails, but only if admins allow it.
Confidential mode is a feature that’s been available to personal account holders since Gmail’s mid-2018 redesign. It’s a powerful tool that lets users set an expiration date on their messages, which cuts off access when that day arrives. However, while the message is available, recipients can’t forward the message to others, copy its contents, or download it, and the sender can revoke access at any point. And, as an added layer of security, senders can set the message to only unlock after the recipient types in an SMS verification code that’s sent to their phone number.
Currently, users can send an email in confidential mode by composing a new email, then selecting the locked clock icon near the “Send” button. Then it will let you set the parameters. When confidential mode for business domains launches, the icon will be located in the same place. Additionally, users will know that it’s active when their message window has a blue header and a warning near the bottom of the compose window that the content will be protected.